Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 12th, 2010

ElViento: In this space, I have written the obituary of Tom Penders’ Cougar career. I have repeatedly warned readers against holding out any hope for this team.

So what’s left to do but completely ignore my own advice?

I’ve been catching games all year, cheering for the players who represent my school without really believing for a second that it was going anywhere.

But after a ho-hum victory over East Carolina in the opening round, the Cougars topped 2-seed Memphis in thrilling, last-second fashion. And the bracket set up nicely for the Coogs, too. The two most dangerous remaining teams – ranked UTEP and host Tulsa, face each other, while Houston will face Southern Miss, who upset UAB on Thursday.

And oh, it just so happens I have the next two days off of work.

So what’s a guy to do but get excited about the team he repeatedly promised himself he wouldn’t get excited about? What’s left but to wake up at the crack of dawn, cram a couple friends in the car and head up to Tulsa?

So I’ll be outta commission for the next few days, but I’ll bring y’all a running diary of the trip once it’s all said and done.

Hope to see some red shirts up in Tulsa at the BOK Center.

GO COOGS!!!

“Hope is a good thing. Maybe the best of things. And no good thing ever dies.”

Read Full Post »